Beware That Girl Review

Beware That Girl
Teresa Toten
Penguin Random House
May 31, 2016
336 pages.
Rating: 3/5I received an ARC of this book at BookCon 2016.

While I was reading Beware That Girl by Teresa Toten, I absolutely hated it. I thought I didn’t like the characters, the plot, the writing, everything. When I finished Beware That Girl, I realized that I did not completely dislike it. By the end I liked most of the characters, and I liked Kate and Olivia’s relationship. I didn’t even hate the plot. A couple of hours later, I couldn’t stop thinking about this book. What will happen to Kate? How did the police learn what Mark was doing? Will Kate and Olivia ever tell anyone what really happened? These were all questions that consumed my thoughts. So, I have no idea what to rate Beware That Girl.

At this point I would normally write I description for the book, but I don’t know how to write a synopsis without misleading you about what the plot is actually about, or giving away something. The best way to read Beware That Girl is going into it not knowing anything about it. That might include waiting to read this review until you complete the novel.

In the beginning all the characters were one dimensional and unlikable. I could care less about any of them. But as the story progressed, I found myself caring more and more about what happened to them. I watched them come to life. I thought this aspect was a great addition to the story. As the story got clearer and clearer so did the characters and their motives. Kate was a character I hated at the begin, but slowly she began to grow on me. She felt like a fuller character, a character that I wanted to succeed, a character I liked. Olivia was a character I never really cared for either. But when we learned she was dating Mark, I was horrified, because I knew that Mark was probably not all that he seemed to be. This was the point of the story when I realized that I cared about Olivia. The characters were a fantastic part of Beware That Girl.

My biggest issue, the reason I originally disliked this book, was the Mark and Olivia issue. I found the scenes between Mark and Olivia more uncomfortable than enjoyable or even informative. Mark was way to old for Olivia, and I think the abuse was over the top. I also thought that there were more painful Olivia and Mark scenes then there needed to be. This plot made the story overall less enjoyable.

Another issue I had was Mark’s character. He was to flawless. In the first half of the book everyone loved him. He was to smart, to good looking, to perfect. During the second half of the book, he had no weaknesses. He was faultless. His plans were exemplary. Nothing could stop him and he had no limits. Except for a frying pan. (Was I the only one thinking about Tangled at this point?)

A positive note I had about the book was that I liked how information and secrets were revealed. I liked how often information was presented about the characters, and how all the secrets and lies built upon itself.

I truly do not know how to rate Beware That Girl. I’m not even sure if I liked it or not. So for now I’m leaving it at three stars, but that may change. I can’t tell you if I even recommend this book. If you do decide to read it, please put a review up. I would love to know your thoughts. I hope you enjoy Beware That Girl by Teresa Toten

2 comments

Leave a Reply

