The Darkest Minds Book Review


The Darkest Minds

Alexandra Bracken

Disney Hyperion

December 18, 2012

488 pages

Review: 4.5/5

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken is a fast paced, compelling, and interesting book. The premise was fascinating, the characters were wonderful, and the plot was intriguing. I read a majority of this book in a day. I definitely recommend The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken.

The characters were probably my favorite aspect of this story. I  loved all the characters you were supposed to love, and hated the characters you were supposed to hate. I liked Ruby and how her character developed throughout the story. I absolutely hated Clancy from the moment we met him. I knew he was not who he pretended to be. I adored Liam. I thought he was such a complex character. He was so sweet, loyal, and kind, but he also could be fierce and protective. He had his own internal problems. I also loved Chubs.and Zu. They were both very real characters. The characters were a very interesting part of The Darkest Minds.

I also loved the relationship that the characters had with each other My favorite relationship was Ruby and Chubs. I loved how their relationship developed, and how close they were by the end. I also really liked Liam and Ruby’s relationship. I thought it was very sweet, but not over the top. Chubs, Liam, and Zu also had a relationship I really enjoyed reading about. I liked how loyal they were to each other. I also adored the conversations all the characters had with each other. The dialogue in this book could be hilarious. “

Chubs groaned. “Why are you so weird?”

“Because my weird has to be able to cancel out your weird, Lady Cross-stitch.”

“At least what I do is considered an art form,” Chubs said.

“Yes, in ye olde medieval Europe you would’ve been quite the catch-” (p. 176)

This is kind of an unpopular opinion, but I adore Alexandra Bracken’s writing. I don’t know why, but something about it makes me want to savor every sentence and every word. It is not to complex and rambling, and it isn’t to non descriptive and simple. Her writing is a perfect blend between the two.

The one problem I had with this book was the world building. I understand the world, but not as much as I would like to. The different powers and colors were not fully fleshed out, and I wish that the disease was explained a little more than it was. The world definitely could have been described better.

(Spoilers for The Darkest Minds in the following paragraph)

Do you know that great feeling you have when you think a book will have a happy ending? All the characters are alive and together, no relationships were broken up, nobody it fighting, and everything is good. Then all of a sudden one character gets shot and you don’t know if they are alive. You think it can’t get worse, but then another character loses their memories of the main character. Then the main character leaves the other characters. That was the frustrating end of The Darkest Minds. I could not even look at the book without getting angry for a few hours after finishing The Darkest Minds. I really hope some of the problems are solved in the sequel, Never Fade.

Overall I really enjoyed The Darkest Minds. It had dynamic characters, a fascinating world, and a dark premise. I recommend it if you enjoy fast paced Young Adult books. Even if you are sick of dystopian books, I think you will still enjoy this one. If you decide to read it, or have already read it, I would love to know your thoughts and opinions.

Leave a Reply

