My Lady Jane Review

My Lady Jane

Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows

Harper Teen

June 8, 2016

491 pages

Review: 5/5 stars

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows is the story of Lady Jane Grey. Jane was queen of England for nine days before she was overthrown and beheaded by Queen Mary I. This was kind of an unfortunate event in history. In My Lady Jane, however the authors rewrite her story. They changed some names, gave characters better or worse fates, and added a little bit of magic. My Lady Jane was wacky, charming, and probably best  not to be taken seriously.

My Lady Jane is told through three perspectives. Each point of view was charming and fun. In books with multiple perspectives, I often find myself caring for only one point of view. This was certainly not the case in My Lady Jane. I absolutely loved reading from each and every character’s point of view.

The first perspective was Edward. Edward is the king of England, but he prefers to plan his first kiss and eat blackberries instead of actually ruling his kingdom. Except there is one problem. Edward is dying. Who will rule his kingdom after him? Not Bess because she is a girl. Certainly not Mary because she wants to kill all the Edians (people who can turn into animals). So Edward chooses Jane. But first Jane must get married………

Overall I really enjoyed Edward’s character. He was very funny, hopelessly romantic, and pretty likeable. His story was really fun to read about. He was also kind of sexist. This added a funny aspect of the story. The authors made fun of the sexist views of the time period. They also filled Edward’s life with powerful women, which changed his views by the end of the story. Edward changed in other ways too. His character really developed a lot throughout the book.

The second perspective was Jane. Jane’s mother really just wants to marry Jane off, but Jane prefers books to romance. Now Jane’s cousin and best friend, Edward wants her to marry his advisor’s son, Gifford. Jane definitely does not want to marry Gifford because he has a bad reputation, but she will marry him for Edward. However there is something that no one is telling Jane about Gifford…….

Jane was a wonderful character to read about. She was a book nerd, and some of the things she said were completely relatable.

“Number one: no touching my books. Number Two: No chewing on my books”

“I would never chew on your books”

“You ate my bridal bouquet”

“So I did. Continue.”

“Number Three: I will never find hay on my books” (p 119-120 all actions taken out)

Jane was also very spunky and determined. She didn’t let people walk all over her, and she definitely did not let the sexist views of society stop her.

The third and final perspective was Gifford or G.G is the man that Jane is being forced to marry. Everyday when the sun rises G turns into a horse, and when the sun sets G turns back into a man.

G was probably my favorite character to read about. Each and every one of his chapters were fun, eventful, and hilarious. He had really funny, and toward the end, swoon worthy, thoughts.

Gifford and Jane had a very special relationship. At first they hated each other, which drifted into them pretending to hate each other, which eventually led them to being friends, and after a while they fell in love with each other. Seeing their relationship develop was one of my favorite aspects of this book. Their banter with each other was also really funny.

“Very funny, my lady. And that reminds me”-he pointed a finger at her-”no horse jokes”

He was making this to easy. “Ah, my lord, why the long face?”

“That’s it!” After a frantic look around the room, he grabbed a book from the night stand. “I don’t recall you mentioning anything about bending the spine of a book”

Alarm filled her. “Put down the book!” (p. 120, some description taken out)

My Lady Jane was absolutely hilarious. I mentioned this a few times already, but seriously this book is the funniest thing I have read in a long time. Often times while reading this book, you will embarrass yourself by giggling or laughing so much. The humor was dry and witty, but it could also be playful and sweet. Now considering this story was written by three different authors that all wrote a different perspective, the writing and humor could have been inconsistent. However this was not the case. The story flowed and had the same humor throughout.

The magic system in My Lady Jane was done really well. The Edians are people that can turn into animals, such as Gifford. This magical element was a great aspect of the story. It drove some scenes and humor. It also was always consistent. Edians always returned to their human form naked. Not when it was convenient. Always. The one very minor problem I had was that everyone seemed to be an Edian. Who wasn’t one?

Overall, I really enjoyed My Lady Jane. It was hilarious, sweet, and fast paced. You will never want to put this book down. Seriously, My Lady Jane will make you giggle, snort, smile idiotically, and sit on the edge of your seat. I highly recommend picking it up. If you have read it, I would love to know your thoughts!

-Lucy

Leave a Reply

