Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

 

I can’t believe it is already almost August. Where did the year go?! In honor of that I decided to do the Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag. This tag was created last year and I was not tagged, but I am still very excited to do it.

Best Book You Have Read in 2016

I’ve read some amazing books this year, and I couldn’t pick just one. The two best books I have read in 2016 so far are My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows and Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi. Both books had amazing characters, plots, and settings. I have a full review up for My Lady Jane, and I will have a review up for Ignite Me up very soon.

Best Sequel You Have Read in 2016

Since I want to mix it up a little, I am going to go with The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. This book was definitely not the phenomenal finale I was looking for, but it was still pretty awesome.

New Release You Have Not Read Yet, But Want To

I can’t believe I haven’t read Passenger by Alexandra Bracken yet! I have heard so many amazing things about, and I am excited to pick it up very soon.

Most Anticipated Release For The Second Half Of The Year

I am super excited for Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas. This is the fifth book in her Throne of Glass series, and I think it is going to be pretty awesome. I did not love Heir of Fire or Queen of Shadows, but it will be interesting to see what happens to these characters that I love.

Biggest Disappointment

I read both of Nicola Yoon’s books this year (The Sun is Also a Star and Everything, Everything) and unfortunately I was disappointed by both of them. Neither of the books were terrible, however I was expecting a lot from both books and neither delivered for me. I have a review for The Sun Is Also A Star on this blog.

Biggest Surprise

Both And I Darken by Kiersten White and Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi were books that pleasantly surprised me. I did not expect to love either one as much as I did, and I have full reviews for both books on this blog.

Favorite New Author

My favorite new author is definitely Tahereh Mafi. I read her Shatter Me series and Furthermore this year, and loved both of them. I am very excited to see what new books she puts out in the future. I have reviews for Shatter Me and Furthermore up on my blog.

Newest Fictional Crush

Sorry I keep going back to the Shatter Me series, but I loved Warner. He is definitely one of my favorite fictional boyfriends. I decided to mix it up a little however, and also throw in Clark from The Unexpected Everything. Clark was such a wonderful character and I loved him.

Newest Favorite Character

I absolutely loved Simon from Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda. He was so funny and relatable, and one of my favorite fictional characters. Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda was also an amazing book.

Book That Made You Cry

I cry reading a lot of books. However I did not shed any tears while reading any books this year. I can’t believe it! I did get a little teary eyed while reading the end of The Raven King though.

Book That Made You Happy

Rereading The Outsiders always makes me happy, but for a book I read for the first time this year, I’m choosing two books that made me equally happy. Those books are Attachments by Rainbow Rowell and My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows, and Brodi Ashton. Both of these books had me squealing with joy because they were hilarious, romantic, and relatable.

Favorite Post You Did This Year

I’m really proud of most of my book reviews. My favorite reviews are definitely My Lady Jane and And I Darken.

Most Beautiful Book You Bought This Year
I’m obsessed with the cover of The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson.
Books You Need To Read Before 2017

There are a lot of books I need to read before the year ends. Here are just a few:

  • Second Chance Summer and Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson
  • Spark by Arylias Nova
  • Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
  • The last three books in the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead

So that was the Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag! I had a lot of fun doing it, and I think you definitely should to! What is the best book you have read so far in 2016?

Leave a Reply

