Furthermore Book Review

FurthermoreImage result for furthermore book

Tahereh Mafi

Dutton

August 30, 2016

419 pages

Review: 3.75/5 stars

I received an ARC of this book at BookCon 2016.

Furthermore is Tahereh Mafi’s new middle grade novel, and it was a very enjoyable read. However I did not love it because I was not interested in the plot. There was nothing wrong with the story itself. Furthermore is about a young girl named Alice. Alice was born into the world without any coloration. This is looked down upon in her very colorful land. Alice doesn’t feel welcome in her world, except when she is with Father. She loves Father more than anything else, but then one day Father goes missing.

I really liked the family aspect in Furthermore. Alice and her mother had an interesting relationship. Alice thought her mother hated her, but Alice still loved her mother. The reader knew Alice’s mother loved her, and it was nice to see Alice realize that.I also loved Alice and her father’s relationship. Father would sacrifice so much to make Alice happy, and overall I thought it was very sweet.

Another thing that I loved about Furthermore was the writing. Tahererh Mafi truly has beautiful writing.I wanted to savor every sentence. However, I did find it to be a bit annoying in some higher paced scenes.

Three years later, Alice has no idea where Father is. Until she meets Oliver. Alice hates Oliver, but Oliver knows where Father is. So Alice goes with Oliver to the land of Furthermore where Father is trapped. Furthermore is a dangerous land where magic is used freely and without caution, and the two children are not sure if they can get out of it alive.

The world of Furthermore was very well developed. All the worlds were fun and whimsical. It could also be truly terrifying. The scariest scene in my opinion was when Alice realized why everyone was so excited that she and Oliver came to the Land of Left. My one complaint world wise was that I wished more worlds were introduced. We only saw four or five worlds, and I would like to have seen a lot more.

Furthermore had excellent pacing. I always wanted to keep reading. However the end did feel rushed. The climax and falling action all seemed to happen in very few pages. I did enjoy how the book ended though.

Overall, I really enjoyed Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi. Although I did not love the plot, the story was still fun and whimsical. If you are looking for a quick middle grade read, I definitely recommend this one. If you have read Furthermore, I would love to know your thought on it.

6 comments

  1. I’m glad you liked this. It sounds really interesting. I’m still not sure whether I want to read it since I pretty much hated Mafi’s Shatter Me trilogy. I also don’t usually read Middle Grade but I might give it a try since it’s getting pretty famous

    Like

Leave a Reply

