Why I Did Not Finish The Thief

The ThiefImage result for the thief

Megan Whalen Turner

Greenwillow Books

December 27, 2007

280 pages

Why I Read: The plot sounded interesting and the second book gets rave reviews

Spoiler Level In Review: None

DNF at 65%

I rarely do not finish books. Especially books as short as The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner (280 pages), but I just could not keep reading it. The Thief  had an interesting plot, but it was terribly boring, had one dimensional and annoying characters, and had poor world building.

Up to 65% of the book (where I left off), the only thing that happened was Gen, the magus, Pol, Sophos, and Ambiades (that’s his name name right?) were traveling to find some strange jewel. When I set this book down, they were at least starting to do something else (I’m trying to be as vague as possible so I don’t spoil anything) that was supposed to be exciting, but was kind of boring. The problem was there were no challenges that tested the characters in any way or made the story more interesting. I came to the conclusion that the point of this book was to set up for the sequel (which I heard is amazing), because a majority of this book is learning about the world (in a confusing way) and getting to know the intolerable characters. I’m kind of disappointed that I most likely will never read the second installment in this series because I couldn’t get through the first book.

The other reason I did not complete The Thief was the characters. Gen, the main character, reminded me of Sage from the Ascendance trilogy (which is an awesome series). Except Sage had motives and was smart about his extreme level of actually funny sass. Gen, on the other hand had no motives and complained about everything. He was also extremely stupid about when he used his not very funny and lame sass. Gen was kind of an obnoxious protagonist that I could not root for. The only other four characters were the magus (confusing, supposed to be intimidating), Pol (stereotypical, sits in the corner and silently observes guard), Ambiades (don’t really know if that is his name confusing and vexing downer), and Sophos (I actually kind of like him, but he blushes to much). None of the characters were very developed or likeable.

I really wanted to love this book, but it just was not meant to be. Have you read The Thief? What did you like or not like about it? I would love to read some reviews!

Currently reading: Our Chemical Hearts

Instagram: @lucysliterature

Twitter: @lucylitblog1456

Goodreads: Lucy’s Literature

I Now Have A Blog Lovin’: <a href=”https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18180801/?claim=ttz3eb5wd8u”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

 

8 comments

  1. First of all, let me congratulate you on writing a DNF review! I think Bloggers don’t do this often enough. We need to stop being scared of giving poor ratings. If we don’t finish a book, it’s our job to share why with the world.
    I haven’t read The Thief yet, but it is on my TBR. I appreciate your criticism and will keep it in mind when this book comes up again. I haven’t read any other reviews for it yet, though.

    Like

  2. Sad to hear this book didn’t work out for you – I also hate giving up on books but when you start forcing yourself to turn pages – you just know its time to throw in the towel. Thanks for sharing your thoughts

    Like

  3. I haven’t heard of this one, but I know to skip it! Thanks for letting us know about this one. And it’s ok to DNF…sometimes we can’t get through it and it’s not our kind of book. Our time is too precious to waste on bad (or not so great) books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

