The Best Books I Read In 2016

Tis the season where all the book bloggers post there favorite books read in 2016. I feel like 2016 was a rough reading year. I didn’t read as many books as I wanted to, and I didn’t read as many amazing books as I did last year. Only a few books really stood out to me as fabulous five star reads. Maybe it is because I started blogging and now am more critical of the books I read.

That is not what this post is about though! This post is about celebrating all the wonderful books I did read in 2016. The list I made are the top ten books I read this year, rated from least favorite of the favorites all the way up to the best book of the year.

10. Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven

Star Rating: 4.25/5 stars

Image result for holding up the universe

I have a full review explaining the wonderfulness of this book (linked here), but in short this book was inspiring, uplifting, and a lot of fun. I read this book back in June and it has stuck with me ever since.

9. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

Star Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Image result for the raven king maggie stiefvater

If you didn’t know, The Raven King was my most anticipated book of 2016. Though it was my least favorite book in The Raven Cycle, it was still a captivating and satisfying conclusion to a wonderful series.

8. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Star Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Image result for the unexpected everything

The Unexpected Everything was a book that was a surprisingly good read. I seriously did not expect to love it as much as I did. The characters, setting, and relationships all were fun and made me never want to put this book down (I read it in one sitting).

7. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Star Rating: 4.75/5 stars

Image result for attachments rainbow rowell

Attachments was the first book I read this year, and it has stuck with me through this entire year. Rainbow Rowell, being my favorite author has yet to disappoint. This book was original, funny, and very entertaining.

6. And I Darken by Kiersten White

Star Rating: 4.75/5 stars

Image result for and i darken

I have a full review (linked here) explaining why And I Darken was such a captivating, fast paced, and dark story. It was full of twists and turns, layered characters, and slightly angsty relationships. I can not recommend this book enough.

5. The Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi

Star Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Image result for shatter me

This was another series that I definitely did not expect to love. I had sworn off reading any more Young Adult dystopian books, but I made an exception for this series. I’m very glad I did. The first book, Shatter Me, I rated 4/5 stars (I have a full review). The second book, Unravel Me, I rated 4.5/5 stars, and the last book, Ignite Me, I rated 5/5 stars. I rated the first novella, Destroy Me, 4/5 stars, and the second novella, Fracture Me, I rated 3.5/5 stars.

4. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

Star Rating: 5/5 stars

Image result for the scorpio races

The Scorpio Races is a masterpiece that I think more people need to read. The first half is a little slow, but that is just so it can build the characters, plot, relationships, and setting. The second half, however, is action packed and I could not stop reading it. I have a post where I explain why you have to read this book.

3. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Star Rating: 5/5 stars

Image result for crooked kingdom

I did not love Six of Crows, so I went into the sequel with very low expectations. I came out of it very satisfied (well as satisfied as I possibly could be. I will never be satisfied). The characters, relationships, plot, and setting were phenomenal and well developed. I wrote a full review praising the greatness that is this book linked here.

2. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

Star Rating: 5/5 stars

Image result for my lady jane

I loved this book so much. My Lady Jane was history rewritten in a faboulous, funny, and wacky way. It was super fast paced, and I read it in a matter of days. I have a full review explaining why I loved this book.

1. Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Star Rating: 5/5 stars

Image result for simon vs the homosapien agenda

I don’t think this comes as any suprise that Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda is my favorite book this year. I actually just reread it, and it was even more wonderful than I remember it being. SVTHSA is a funny, sweet, relatable, and special story that I cannot recommend enough.

Those were my favorite books that I read in 2016! What books did you love in 2016? Did you have a good reading year? I would love to know.

Currently Reading: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

9 comments

Leave a Reply

