I Was Not A Fangirl For The Fangirl’s Guide To The Galaxy

The Fangirl’s Guide To The Galaxy

Sam Maggs

Quirk Books

May 12, 2015

208 pages

Why I Read: It seemed like a quick and fun read for the end of the year.

Spoiler Level In Review: None

Star Rating: 2/5 stars

Sam Maggs ‘s guide for fangirl’s everywhere was getting awesome reviews and had me slightly intrigued. So, on a whim, I decided to pick it up as a fun and quick read for the end of the year. Unfortunately, I did not like this book as much as I wanted to.

Why I Did Not Fangirl Over The Fangirl’s Guide To The Galaxy

  1. There was no target audience-While I was reading this book, I often wondered who Sam Maggs was writing to. She was obviously writing to girls because she kept addressing girls (though at the beginning she said this was a book for boys too), but what age range was this book for? At some points it felt like she was writing to middle grade age girls. Sometimes it felt like she was writing to teenage girls or adult woman. It was all very confusing.
  2. It wasn’t a guide for geek girls- This book really was not a guide for fangirls, it was guide for girls who wanted to be fangirls (or just internet obsessed, fanfiction writing, all the merchandise fangirls). Everything was pretty basic, and I wanted more memoir based stories instead of how to use Twitter tutorials. I did like her advice on attending cons. I thought that chapter was pretty useful.
  3. It was just not for me- Honestly the type of fangirl this book was aimed for was not me. I don’t read/write fanfiction, I don’t attend countless cosplaying cons, and I don’t stalk Tumblr looking for the perfect GIFs for my most recent GIFset. Therefore, because I do not choose to participate in the in the fangirl activities described in this book, it was not as enjoyable for me.

Unfortunately, The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy was not my kind of book and I did not enjoy it. It is a fairly quick read, so if you are interested, maybe pick it up and see what you think. Have you read this book? Did you enjoy it? I would love to know!

Currently Reading: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Instagram: @lucysliterature

Twitter: @lucyslitblog1456

Goodreads: Lucy’s Literature

4 comments

Leave a Reply

