Shadowhunters Are Actually Not That Great/Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy Review

Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy     Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennam, Maureen Johnson, and Robin Wasserman

Simon and Schuster

November 15, 2016

655 pages

Why I Read: I will read anything about the Shadowhunter world apparently.

Star Rating: 2.75/5 stars

Spoiler Rating: Mild for actual book, high for rest of Shadowhunter books

Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy is an extremely difficult book to review. It is a series of ten novellas following Simon Lewis and his adventures at the newly reopened Shadowhunter Academy.  I have given a star score and a brief review for each novella.

  1. Welcome To Shadowhunter Academy-2/5 stars- All the character interactions were so awkward in this story. I seriously doubt Simon would talk to any of his friends the way he does, and Izzy would never storm into a classroom and do what she did. The writing was also super clunky (the unclear pronouns killed me), and their was a scene that was way to Harry Potter-esque for my liking.
  2.  The Lost Herondale-3/5 stars-So I decided in this novella that Simon was the Harry Potter and George was the Ron Weasley of Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy. This story was definitely better than the first one, but the writing was still not great and the characters were a little out of character.
  3. The Whitechapel Fiend-3.75/5 stars-The soul purpose of this novella was to make every fangirl ever to get excited over The Infernal Devices characters. I would not say that I was immune to the TID excitement, but I wish this novella had an actual purpose.
  4. Nothing But Shadows-4.5/5 stars-Though I wished this novella could have been incorporated into the Simon plot line better, I still loved this one. James Herondale was an amazing character and I cared about him more than I did for all the other characters introduced in this novella series.
  5. The Evil We Love-1.5/5 stars-I cannot say that I found one good thing about this novella. It gave Robert Lightwood and the Circle no depth, and I found that the Circle scenes were incredibly boring. Izzy was also out of character and the amount of Sizzy drama was unbearable. One of my favorite things about Simon and Izzy’s relationship in The Mortal Instruments was how funny and lighthearted it was. In this Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy, it was ridiculously angsty and not very fun to read about.
  6. Pale Kings and Princes-4/5 stars-This story really fleshed out Helen’s character for me. I never really thought very much about her until I read this. It also gave more depth to the Faerie world and the Cold Peace.
  7. Bitter of Tongue-4.5/5 stars-In my opinion, the Wild Hunt is one of the coolest things about the Shadowhunter world, and I loved that their was a novella about it. The Blackthorns are such a loving and adorable family, and I liked Mark in this novella even more than I did in Lady Midnight (which I kind of want to reread now that I’m kind of in love with the faerie aspect of this world).
  8. The Fiery Trial-1/5 stars-Let’s make up an excuse to bring every Shadowhunter character that we have not mentioned yet in this novella bind up (excluding Malec, but they will have their own story later) and cram them into one novella. That was what this story felt like. The whole trial scene felt really silly and I mostly want to forget this even happened. I really liked Jem though.
  9. Born To Endless Night-3.75/5 stars-I appreciated the amount of Malec in this novella because I was feeling very deprived of it in the rest of this book. This story kind of was way to long for the extremely simple plot that it had, but I really liked Alec’s development. Alec was my favorite character in City of Heavenly Fire (and close to my favorite character in the rest of the books), and it was really nice to see that he was happier and more content with his life.
  10. Angels Twice Descending-3/5 stars-This novella was just not that interesting. It was pretty predictable and uninspired. That is all I really have to say about it.

There were quite a few novellas I liked, and many I did not like. I did have some problems with the plot as a whole, however.

  1. All the new characters were interchangeable- Honestly I could never tell the difference between Beatriz and Julie. One was nicer and one liked Simon. That is about all I could tell you about their characters, and I don’t know which one is which. George was an okay character, but he reminded me of a dull Ron Weasley. Jon and Marisol had some relationship that confused me.
  2. If Divergent and Harry Potter had a child, this would be the bad result-If jumping off trees for some reason does not remind you of Dauntless than I don’t know what does. Seriously. The whole dregs and elites plot was very pure and mudbloods from Harry Potter and the scene where George met Simon also reminded me of Harry Potter.
  3. I no longer want to be a Shadowhunter- I don’t know about you, but before reading this book I wanted to be a Shadowhunter. Something about them just seemed so awesome in The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices. Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy made shadowhunting seem awful and really sucked some of the life out of the awesome world Cassandra Clare had created. I have decided to pursue the life of a warlock now.
  4. There was no point to the whole Shadowhunter Academy plot- The job of a novella is to enhance the characters, plot, or world of a book. The major over arching Simon plot really did nothing for me. The stories about other aspects of the world (Wild Hunt, faeries, James Herondale, Malec baby ect.) could have done very fine without Simon. My suspicion is that since not all of the novellas were that good (and I would have happily skipped some of them), having the Simon story line forces you to read all of them.
  5. Why don’t the mundanes ascend before they attend Shadowhunter Academy?-This is not really a critique, just a question that I had while read this book. Why wouldn’t Shadowhunters ascend before they went to the academy? It would make a lot more sense because the academy should probably be teaching future demon fighters how to use seraph blades and how to apply runes instead of how to jump out of a tree.

Overall I found Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy to be an entertaining read with lots of flaws. I honestly think that if you are a fan of the Shadowhunter world and go into it without a reviewer mindset, then you will love this book. It just was not for me. Did you enjoy Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy? Who was your favorite character to see again? What was your favorite novella? I would love to know.

Currently Reading: Shooter by Caroline Pignat

Instagram: @lucysliterature

Twitter: @lucylitblog1456

Goodreads: Lucy’s Literature

 

 

5 comments

Leave a Reply

