January 2017 Wrap Up

The new year has begun! I have been really happy with a lot of the posts and books that I have written and read this month. I was pretty busy (as always), but I still read 6 books this month.


Books I Read In January

Image result for scarlet by marissa meyer

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer-3.75/5 stars-After not enjoying the first book in this series a couple years ago, I decided to give the second book a chance. I am very glad that I did. Scarlet was such a fun and cool retelling that I definitely recommend.

Review:Little Red Riding Hood ft. Aliens/Scarlet Review

Goodreads: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Image result for the enchantress returns

The Enchantress Returns by Chris Colfer-3/5 stars-I guess I was loving Scarlet so much that I decided to read another fairy tale related book. This book also was the second book in a series, and I definitely enjoyed it. Their were a few issues I had, but overall it was a great read.

Review: Fun In The Fairy Tale World/The Enchantress Returns Review

Goodreads: The Enchantress Returns by Chris Colfer

Image result for hairspray script

Hairspray: The Complete Book and Lyrics of the Hit Broadway Musical by Mark O’Donnell-4/5 stars-I love Hairspray, so obviously when I saw the script at my library I had to read it. This was a super quick read that I recommend if you are a fan of the musical or movie.

Goodreads: Hairspray Script by Mark O’Donnel

Image result for cress lunar chronicles

Cress by Marissa Meyer-4.5/5 stars-I absolutely loved Cress. It was so much better than the first and second books in The Lunar Chronicles and I cannot recommend it enough. Cress was funny, action packed, and super cool. Honestly how Marissa Meyer incorporates the fairy tale elements in her story in genius.

Review: Rapunzel Lives In A Satellite/Cress Review

Goodreads: Cress by Marissa Meyer

Image result for tales from the shadowhunter academy

Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, and Robin Wasserman-2.75/5 stars-I’m honestly kind of over the Shadowhunter world, and that fact was confirmed after reading this book. I recommend this book if you are a Shadowhunter fan.

Review: Shadowhunters Are Actually Not That Great/Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy Review

Goodreads: Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare and Friends

Image result for shooter by caroline pignat

Shooter by Caroline Pignat-2/5 stars-I received an e-arc of Shooter via Netgalley. This book was full of annoying cliches and a not very realistic or interesting plot. The characters were so boring, and I honestly did not like any of them (with an exception of Xavier).

Review: Will Be Up Closer To Release Date

Goodreads: Shooter by Caroline Pignet


Musical Musings

La La Land

Image result for la la land

This month I saw the movie La La Land and I absolutely loved it. The sets and the actors and the plot were all amazing. My favorite part however was the music. I have been listening to it non-stop since I first saw the movie earlier this month.

School of Rock

Image result for school of rock musical

I’ve been meaning to jump on this band wagon since the Tony Awards last June, but I have never gotten around to listening to the cast recording until this month. School of Rock is such a fun musical that is super easy to get into. Also Andrew Lloyd Webber composed the music, so it obviously going to be good.

Miss Saigon

Image result for miss saigon musical

I have been listening to Miss Saigon for months now, but I have not really loved it until this month. I’m just in time for the Broadway revival of this musical that is coming out this year too!


Blog Updates

Image result for bloglovin

This month I have finally signed up for Bloglovin’ so you can follow this blog on that now. I’m so excited to have the opportunity to discover even more fabulous blogs!

Bloglovin’- Lucy’s Literature


February Plans

The Books I Want To Read

Image result for mask of shadows book

Thanks Netgalley!

Image result for tiny pretty things

Image result for winter book

Image result for grendel's guide to love and war

Thanks Netgalley!

Image result for roseblood

Other Things


It is February 4th right now, and last night I saw Hamilton. It was absolutely amazing, but I will talk about it more in next months wrap up or I might write a review for the production.

That was my January wrap up! What did you do this month? Would you like to see a Hamilton review? Did you read any good books in January? I would love to know.

Currently Reading: Winter by Marissa Meyer

Instagram: @lucysliterature

Twitter: @lucylitblog1456

Goodreads: Lucy’s Literature 

 

5 comments

Leave a Reply

