Everyone Has Secrets/One Of Us Is Lying Review

One Of Us Is Lying   Image result for one of us is lying book

Karen M. McManus

Delacorte Press

May 30, 2017

368 pages

Why I Read: The plot sounded really interesting, and I got approved for it on Netgalley.

Star Rating: 4/5 stars

Spoiler Rating: Mild

Thank you to Delacorte Press and Netgalley for supplying me with this Advanced Readers Copy.

One Of Us Is Lying is Karen M. McManus’s 2017 debut book. As soon as I heard about it, I knew that I had to read it. The description was amazing and really intriguing. Five kids go into detention and four come out? Unreliable narrators? Suspense? Sign me up. Fortunately I was not disappointed. One Of Us Is Lying was suspenseful, interesting, and had me always guessing (though I did guess correctly early on).

I usually write my own synopsis for books in my reviews, but I  think that the Goodreads description captures the plot and feeling of the book perfectly.

One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.
Pay close attention and you might solve this.
On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.
Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder.
Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

A really cool element of this book was how the characters changed and developed. At first they all seemed like typical stereotypes, but they really developed out of those stereotypes as the book progressed. My favorite character transformation was probably Addy’s. She started off being a push over with no real friends, but she turned into a really cool protagonist (I don’t want to spoil anything). My least favorite development was probably Cooper’s. His “big” reveal was kind of the only aspect that changed about his character.

I definitely rooted for all four of the main characters, but I wish some of them were less innocent. Throughout the book some reveals made each of them appear to be the murderer, but not enough for me to not trust them.

Though I really enjoyed the main characters, I found some of the side characters to be lacking. None of them were really very realistic or developed, with the exception of Ashton. Ashton was hilarious and I love how she supported her sister Addy. I also wish that we had more Kris in this book. I liked the three scenes that Kris was in, I just wanted their to be more.

This book took place outside of San Diego, but it could really have taken place anywhere. I was not even aware of where it took place until the last twenty percent. I also found the presence of the media to be kind of lacking. The media was always their waiting to interview Addy, Nate, Cooper, and Browyn, but I never felt their presence.

In the very beginning of the book, the main characters are accused of murder mainly because of the accusations that Simon would have posted on his gossip app the following day about them. I found all of the accusations to be unoriginal and pretty disappointing. I just wished they were more interesting than what they were.

The end of the book was not disappointing. The story stayed true to what the description promised and every piece of evidence clicked together for the resolution. I did unfortunately guess what happened at around the half way point. My only problem was that a certain character’s involvement in the murder did not make a lot of sense and was kind of unrealistic.

Overall, One Of Us Is Lying was a fast paced and suspenseful book that I really enjoyed. Though it was not perfect, it still was a good and interesting book that I would recommend when it comes out in May. Have you read One Of Us Is Lying? Do you want to? Who do you think is guilty? I would love to know.

Currently Reading: Roseblood by A.G. Howard

Instagram: @lucysliterature

Twitter: @lucylitblog1456

Goodreads: Lucy’s Literature

 

 

Leave a Reply

