Eliza And Her Monsters Book Review

Eliza And Her Monsters

Francesca Zappia

Harper Collins

May 30, 2017

385 pages

Star Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Spoiler Level: None unless indicated

I have a confession. The only reason I read this book was because it sounded very similar to one of my favorite books ever, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I was wrong. Eliza And Her Monsters was nothing like I ever read. It pulled at my heart strings, because it was such a impactful read.

Online, Eliza is popular. She is the author of the most famous web comic on the internet, with millions and millions of fans that read her work, buy her merchandise, and comment on her comic’s forums. At school, no one knows who Eliza is, and she likes it that way.  Until Wallace shows up.  Wallace is a superfan of Eliza’s comics that writes super popular fanfiction. However when he meets Eliza, he just thinks she’s a regular fan. As Wallace and Eliza grow closer together, Eliza feels guiltier about not telling him her true identity even though it might mean losing everything.

Eliza And Her Monsters was a love letter to fandoms and the Internet. I loved all of the art work and profiles and instant messages in this story. Eliza’s Internet frineds were both lovely and fun characters to learn about through texts. Something else I loved about the Internet aspect of this story was how it showed that there are cons to being Internet famous. Especially after Eliza’s identity was uncovered. (Highlight for spoilers).

Eliza’s character kind of frustrated me when I started this book. I really just wanted her to break out of her shell. Then I began to understand her more, and this made her development (and her breaking out of her shell) more beautiful. Eliza’s character development is lovely to read about so I really don’t want to give anything away. The portrayal of her anxiety was heartwrenching and seemingly realistic (I can’t personally determine how accurately her anxiety was portrayed).

Wallace was a likeable enough character, but their was nothing that set him apart from any other lead male fictional character. He was a forgettable character. Also his backstory was predictable and unoriginal.

Eliza and Wallace started out as friends, and it was amazing. Their friendship was funny and they helped each other break out of their shells. Then their friendship turned into  a romantic relationship without the reader even knowing it was coming. I enjoyed how their relationship developed, even though I wouldn’t have minded if they just were friends.

The family aspect was an aspect I really loved in Eliza And Her Monsters. Even though Eliza’s parents didn’t understand her online world, they still tried. It is always refreshing to see involved parents in young adult books. Eliza’s brothers seemed really annoying in the beginning of the story, but as the book went on, you could tell that they cared about their sister (they were also pretty funny!). I really enjoyed the end where they helped Eliza’s parents understand her and her web comics. Wallace’s family was sweet, but we really didn’t see much of them. It would have been better to read more about his sisters and parents.

Eliza And Her Monsters was an original and heartbreaking contemporary that I would highly recommend. It is a quick read that will leave you breathless the entire story. The internet was woven into the story seamlessly, the main character’s arc was lovely, and the relationships between friends and families were exciting to read. What did you think of Eliza And Her Monsters? I would love to know.


Currently Reading: Now I Rise by Kiersten White

 

 

3 comments

  1. OMG OMG OMG I absolutely loved this book so so so much. I just finished reading it yesterday. I loved how relatable the characters were, like I can see so much of myself in Eliza. I also like that the author did not leave out Eliza’s parents which often seems to be the case in YA novels.
    The only thing I didn’t like was Wallace’s reaction to Eliza’s identity and the fact that he basically held her responsible for his future… so not okay.
    Anyway, I look forward to reading more from you in the future… Happy Reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

