You Need To Read The Scorpio Races

Image result for the scorpio races

The Scorpio Races is the tale of an island named Thisby. Every October, capal uisce or water horses come up out the water and onto the island, and young men try to catch and train them for the dangerous Scorpio Races. This book follows Puck, a girl who is the first woman to ever enter the race, and Sean Kendrick, a young man who has been the reigning champion of the Scorpio Races for four years. Both characters have much to lose if they don’t win the race, however there can only be one winner.

I have recently finished reading and loving The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. Everything about it was close to perfect, from the setting, to the plot, to the characters. Everyone should read it! So I have compiled a list of the top five reasons why you should read The Scorpio Races.

  1. The characters in all of Maggie Stiefvater’s are not actually characters-they are real people. Every single character in this book was completely real. From the characters who were only on two pages, to Sean and Puck, every character felt like a real person. Even the caple uisce were interesting, and I cared about them like I did the people.
  2. The island was very well described. While I was reading The Scorpio Race, I could imagine exactly what everything looked, smelled, felt, sounded, and tasted like. I could taste the November cakes, feel the salt and the wind, smell the stables, hear the cries of the caple uisce, and see Thisby. Maggie Stiefvater’s vivid descriptions took me into the story.
  3. Maggie Stiefvater has very interesting writing. She uses words that I probably would never choose to use, but they work as well if not better than a typical word choice. Her dialogue is also witty and a lot of fun to read.
  4. The second half of The Scorpio Races was very fast paced. I will admit the first half of this book was a little slow because of the world building and character/plot development. However once the second half started, I could not stop reading and my heart could not stop pounding.
  5. You seriously have no idea how much you care about the characters until something very bad or very good happens. At the end, I was an emotional mess because of the happy and sad tears I cried.

Those were my top five reasons why I think you should read The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. I really enjoyed it and definitely recommend picking it up. If you have read it, I would love to know your thoughts.

Leave a comment